Pure

27 Mar

Pure

 

10-29-14

 

I don’t feel pure

I don’t feel righteous

I don’t feel holy

 

I feel guilty

I feel shameful

I feel broken

 

My sin is evident to me

My fallings and failures

My faults and weaknesses

 

It is hard to see the good

It is hard to see the promises

It is hard to see the hope

 

Righteousness

Grace

Mercy

 

Concepts that seem far off

Concepts that seem abstract

Concepts that seem hard to understand at times

 

Righteousness

Not my own

Not through my actions

Not achieved through any sacrifice on my part

 

Grace

Justice for my sins averted

Justice for my mistakes not given

Justice for my failures appeased

 

Mercy

Forgiven for the past sins

Forgiven for the present mistakes

Forgiven for the future failures

Leave a Reply

