Drifter

16 Dec

 Drifter

 

12-16-12

 

I am a drifter

I move from group to group

Not one alone claims me

Not one confines me

 

I am a drifter

I play the second fiddle

Not one alone is my friend

Not one alone holds me highest

 

I am a drifter

I move along a path

Never staying too long

Never rooting very deep

 

I am a drifter

I play among many

Never the sole best friend

Never the front burner

 

Some days I dislike it

Other days I appreciate it

Drifter always to be

Drifter is how I live

 

Yet I put down roots

Yet I have people

I just drift between homes

I just drift between parties

 

Drifting prevents intimacy

Drifting provides freedom

Intimacy to be the inside problem

Freedom to be an outside advisor

 

 

Floating across the sea

A drifter I will always be

Leave a Reply

